Plumbers licensing requirements for a journeyman and master plumbers license are usually determined at the state level and the necessary requirements and exams vary in each State. The enforcing & regulating of the state plumbing licensing requirements often fall under individual municipalities. You can check the requirements for the journeyman and master plumber license in a particular State below.


Alaska Plumbing License Requirements

Plumbers License Alaska

Alaska law requires that plumbers have a Alaska plumbing license and are registered with the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development to perform any type of plumbing work inside the State. The Department of labor issues separate licenses for journeyman and master plumbers certification.

Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Mechanical Inspection Section
3301 Eagle Street, Suite 302
Anchorage, AK 99503

Website: Labor Standards & Safety Division

The re-application fee required if the license has expired more than 90 days is $50.00 , and if expired longer than two years a re-examination is required. Work may not be performed with an expired plumbing license.

Alaska Plumber Journeyman Licence Requirements

Applicants for a plumber journeyman license need 8,000 hours of legally obtained experience in the trade subject to the UPC. A notarized application, original notarized letters attesting to experience from employers or through an Alaska based union and application fee are required prior to testing.

Alaska Plumber Gas License Requirements

Plumber Gas (PG) License applicants need 4,000 hours of of legally obtained experience in the trade performing work subject to the Uniform Plumbing Code, a minimum of 2000 hours installing fuel and gas piping. A notarized application, original notarized letters attesting to experience from employers or through an Alaska based union, and application fee are required prior to testing.

Alaska Plumber Utility License Requirements

Plumber Utility (PU)  License applicants need 1,000 hours of legally obtained experience in the trade. A notarized application, original notarized letters attesting to experience from employers or through an Alaska based union, and application fee are required prior to testing.

State Licensing and Exam Requirements

Licensing and plumbing certification requirements for plumbers are usually determined at the state level and tend to vary slightly from state to state. Often, the job of enforcing and regulating these requirements falls to individual municipalities. To check the requirements for a plumbing license in a particular state select your location on the State License Requirements page.

If you need more informations on passing the journeyman plumbing exams then perhaps you might want to read: How To Do The Plumber Journeyman Exam to help you get started as an apprentice plumber or journeyman plumber.

External References

 

State: 

ak